From: Chicago, IL, USA

This Chicago group started out in the mid-sixties as a top 40s lounge cover band called the Exceptions. Eventually they were discovered by Dunwich Records producer Bill Traut who offered them the opportunity to record an LP of original material. All members jumped at the chance except for Peter Cetera of future Chicago fame so he was replaced by Bobby Jones (bass, vocals). Other original band members included Jim Donlinger (guitar, vocals), Billy Herman (drums, vocals), and Jim Nyeholt (keyboards).

They released three singles and two albums, the first LP peaking on the Billboard charts at #168. Songs of particular interest on this record include ‘Strange’ and ‘Heart Attack’. In 1969, they joined forces with members of the Cryan’ Shames to do an album of U.S. Navy public service spots under the moniker the Aorta/Cryan’ Shames Ensemble.

Artist information sources include: The book, ‘Fuzz, Acid, and Flowers Revisited’ by Vernon Joynson.

Tracks played on Psychedelicized…


Atlantic 45-2545 – 1968

  • Shapes Of Things To Come

Original LPs/EPs…

Aorta – 1969
Aorta Album

  • Catalyptic
  • Heart Attack
  • Ode To Missy Mxyzosptlk
  • Sleep Tight
  • Strange
  • What’s In My Mind’s Eye