CellophaneFrom: Wellington, New Zealand

Cellophane were a short-lived pop band out of Wellington, New Zealand that formed around 1969. Band members included Dave Wellington (lead guitar, vocals), Pam Potter (organ), Ian Hewittson (vocals), John Van Der Reyden (drums), and Michael Hill (bass, vocals). Wellington and Hill had both been with the band The Intruders and they joined forces with Hewittson andVan Der Reyden, who had been together in the band Sebastian’s Floral Array. Potter was then added, completing the lineup. This was Potter’s only outing as she was also a schoolteacher during her time with the band. Cellophane only ever recorded one single. Released on the Pye label in 1969, the A-side featured a slow version of Arthur Brown’s “Fire.” The B-side featured the excellent “Mind Patterns.” Both sides of the single also appear on the Electric Sound Show compilation.

Cellophane entered the national Battle Of The Bands competition with “Fire” and won. The prize was a trip to Australia with guaranteed gigs, but they never made the trip, as lineup changes occurred and disrupted their plans. Van Der Reyden left and was replaced with Dave Kirkland. Hill also left the band and was replaced by Robbie Mackie. This version of the band did not stay together long. Hewittson and Potter decided to go to Australia anyways, but Potter was killed in a car crash not long after arriving. Mackie and Kirkland ended up as the rhythm section of Tapestry.

Feel free to use our Facebook page to discuss & ask any questions you have about this artist, a fellow PsycheHead is sure to have the answer.

Tracks played on Psychedelicized…

From the 1969 single “Fire” and the Electric Sound Show Compilation
Electric Sound Show

  • Fire
  • Mind Patterns