The Elastic Band

The Elastic BandFrom: Wales

This northern Welch band formed in 1968 and was originally known as the Silverstone Set. Members included Andy Scott (guitar), Mike Scott (bass), Dave Scott (drums), Auguste Yeadon (organ, vocals) and Sean Jenkins (drums).

After changing their name to the Elastic Band, they appeared on the British TV talent show ‘Opportunity Knocks’ and reportedly won five times, helping them to secure a record contract with Decca. Overall, they released two 45s and one LP (‘Expansions On Life’) on Decca in 1969, but all made little impact. The well crafted soul-filled, pop-psych tune ‘8½ Hours Of Paradise’ was co-written by Yeadon and Andy Scott and appears on the B-side of their second single. After the band broke up in 1970, Andy Scott went on to become a member of Sweet.

Artist Info: Technicolor Web Of Sound, Tapestry of Delights Revisited.

Feel free to use our Facebook page to discuss & ask any questions you have about this artist, a fellow PsycheHead is sure to have the answer.

Tracks played on Psychedelicized…

From the 1968 single “Do Unto Others”
Screen Shot 2015-12-06 at 4.07.27 PM

  • 8 1/2 Hours Of Paradise