Federal Duck

From: Haverford, PA, USA

Federal Duck were one of the many bands to pop up during the psychedelic era. The band consisted of Tony Shaftel (vocals, bass),  Jack Bowers (guitar), George Stavis (guitar, vocals), Huck White (guitar, french horn), Ken Stover (keyboards, tuba), Bob Stern (bass, vocals), and Timmy Ackerman (drums, percussion). Federal Duck only ever released one album. This self-titled release was not well received, although there are a number of quality tracks on the album. “Tomorrow Waits For Today” is an excellent piece of pop psych, as is “Friday Morning.” The album cover features a picture of a duck that is made up of different coloured paper. The band is also featured with the duck. The album was recorded at Groove Sound Studios in New York City. In 1969, Stavis recorded a solo album for Vanguard.

Artist information sources include: Fuzz, Acid & Flowers by Vernon Joynson, Rateyourmusic.com, and Discogs.com

Feel free to use our Facebook page to discuss & ask any questions you have about this artist, a fellow PsycheHead is sure to have the answer.

Tracks played on Psychedelicized…

From the 1968 album Federal Duck
Federal Duck

  • Circus By The Sea
  • Friday Morning
  • Knowing That I Loved You So
  • Peace In My Mind
  • Tomorrow Waits For Today