Ten Years After

BandFrom: Nottingham, England

Ten Years After was a blues-rock band that was most popular in the late 1960s and early 1970s. The band consisted of Alvin Lee (guitar, vocals) Chick Churchill (keyboards), Leo Lyons (bass), and Ric Lee (drums).

Ten Years After formed in 1967 and were quickly signed to Decca in England. The band’s debut album, Ten Years After, did not achieve much success, but their follow-up album in 1968, Undead, charted on both sides of the Atlantic. Undead contained the foot-stompin’ classic, “I’m Going Home,” a song that would go onto become one of the key moments of the Woodstock Festival. Woodstock is where Ten Years After would make the American breakthrough.

In 1969, Ten Years After released the album Stonedhenge, which reached the Top Ten in the U.K. The next album, Ssssh, cracked the Top 20 in America, followed by Cricklewood Green, an album that featured the hit single “Love Like A Man.” Cricklewood reached number four on the charts. The band released one more album on the Decca label. 1970’s Watt is the last record before Ten Years After signed with Columbia. At this time, the band towards more of a mainstream sound. This is evident by the gold-selling 1971 album A Space In Time. The album featured the Top 40 hit “I’d Love To Change The World.” Although A Space In Time is seen as more of a commercial record, it is still very true to Ten Years After’s roots. The track, “One Of These Days” starts the album off strong, and the rest of the album just comes together beautifully, centered around the hit single.

Ten Years After were never able to maintain the success they had with A Space In Time, and after the release of 1974’s Positive Vibrations, the band split up. In 1988, Ten Years After reunited for concerts in Europe. They also recorded their first new album in fifteen years, releasing About Time in 1989. They again disbanded after the album’s release. In 2001, while working on another project, Ric Lee discovered the tapes from Live At The Fillmore East 1970. Wanting to get the band back together and promote the album, Ric contacted Alvin about the idea. Alvin declined the, but the rest of the band had agreed. The band went on tour anyways, bringing along Joe Gooch (guitar). The new version of Ten Years After recorded a new album in 2004, when they released Now. They also released a double live album, Roadworks, in 2005. On March 6, 2013, Alvin Lee passed away at the age of 68 due to complications  from a routine surgery.

Artist information sources include: an article by William Ruhlmann at Allmusic.com

Feel free to use our Facebook page to discuss & ask any questions you have about this artist, a fellow PsycheHead is sure to have the answer.

Tracks played on Psychedelicized…

From the 1968 single Deram DM 176

  • Portable People

From the 1967 album Ten Years After
Ten Years After

  • Feel It For Me
  • I Can’t Keep From Crying, Sometimes

From the 1968 album Undead

  • I’m Going Home

From the 1969 album Ssssh

  • I Don’t Know That You Don’t Know My Name

From the 1970 album Cricklewood Green
Cricklewood Green

  • 50,000 Miles Beneath My Brain
  • Circles
  • Working On The Road

From the 1970 album Watt

  • The Band With No Name

From the 1971 album A Space In Time
A Space In Time

  • Hard Monkeys
  • Here They Come
  • I’d Love To Change The World
  • Let The Sky Fall
  • One of These Days
  • Over The Hill